By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
OVHD Shuffles As Election Approaches
Placeholder Image

With four seats up for election this November, the Oak Valley Hospital District Board of Directors held an election of their own at the Wednesday, July 28 board meeting.

The board voted to install OVHD board member Belinda Abell as their president, replacing board member Bob Wikoff. Wikoff had held the position for the past five years.

Board member Jim Teter remained in the role of vice president, and Wikoff took over the position of secretary.

Wikoff, Abell, recently appointed board member Dan Cummins, and Governing Body member Wendell Chun have all filed for three available four-year district board seats.

Cummins was appointed to the seat formerly held by Stacy Morgan-Foster, who was elected in 2008.

Former board member Paul Westberg is the only person who has filed for that seat, which will serve out the remaining two years of Foster’s term.

In the City of Oakdale mayoral race, Pat Paul and current mayor Farrell Jackson remain the only candidates so far. With two seats available on the city council, incumbent Michael Brennan has pulled papers to run for another term. Current council member Toni Hanson has indicated she is not going to run again, allowing candidates a few extra days to file for the open seats.

Oakdale residents Bill Camp, John Kanno, Jason Howard, and city treasurer Michael Murray have all pulled papers for a council position. The filing deadline is Wednesday, Aug. 11 at 5 p.m., according to Oakdale City Clerk Nancy Lilly.