By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Varsity Soccer Squad Clinches League Title
Placeholder Image

Oakdale improved to 15-4-4 overall with a 4-1 win at home against East Union on Oct. 22, dropping the Lancers to 3-12-2 overall this season. They took a 2-0 win against Kimball on the road (Oct. 24) and claimed the Valley Oak League title with a Monday, Oct. 28 2-2 tie with 15-5-3 Weston Ranch. Goals from senior Davis Harper and sophomore David Serrano helped the Mustangs officially clinch the Valley Oak League title, getting the lone point they needed with the draw.

Against East Union, Harper, Cody Trapp and Harry Harris each scored with junior Shane Baxter chipping in a goal as well. Zeke Spani had four saves and Jake Hicks had three saves and allowed one goal. Juggling the lineup, Mustangs coach Alfredo Quiroga gave some starters rest and that allowed freshmen playing with the varsity the opportunity to log some quality playing time.

Harper, who now has 20 goals and 45 points total in 24 games played, has notched a hat-trick against Beyer, two goals each against Manteca and Sierra, and been the most consistent goal scorer on a seasoned Oakdale squad.

“We’ve all been playing together for a long time,” Harper said after the East Union game. “This is a combination of a lot of hard work and us really jelling over the years on club teams – a lot of us have played together since we were kids.”

Before Oakdale’s only league loss, a 2-1 decision to a Lathrop team undefeated at home and whose game winning goal was just beyond the reach of the Mustang goalie, the varsity squad had not been defeated since Sept. 6 at the Gregori Tournament when they fell 2-1 to Golden Valley of Ceres. Since the Lathrop defeat, the Mustangs reeled off a 3-1 win over Sierra, 4-1 over East Union, 2-0 over Kimball before tying Weston Ranch.

The Mustangs final game of the season is at home against Sonora on Thursday, Oct. 30 for Senior Night, before playoff seedings for the San Joaquin Section are announced.