By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Leo Camarillo Recognized On Hall Of Fame Weekend
Leo Camarillo


The National Cowboy & Western Heritage Museum hosted its Rodeo Hall of Fame Weekend on Friday, Sept. 25 and Saturday, Sept. 26 celebrating rodeo legends being inducted into the Rodeo Hall of Fame, as well as Ben Johnson Memorial Award and Tad Lucas Memorial Award recipients. Since 1955, cowboys and cowgirls have been inducted the Rodeo hall of Fame at the Museum, home to the world’s largest national rodeo collection.

“There are few things more iconic in the American West than the rodeo tradition,” said Museum President Steven Karr. “Rodeo Hall of Fame Weekend invites both rodeo enthusiasts and members of the public to come together and celebrate rodeo’s cultural contributions, as well as the individuals who have made rodeo the phenomenon it is today. Nowhere else in the world can you experience this unique culture in such a way.”

Rodeo legends inducted in the Hall of Fame this year included Bobby DelVecchio, C.L. “Buck” Eckols (1914-1992), John Edwards, Bob Feist, Tommy Lucia, Jerry Olson, C.C. “Bud” Parker (1887-1946), B.J. Pierce and T.B. Porter. The recipient of the Tad Lucas Memorial Award was Kirsten Vold and the recipient of the Ben Johnson Memorial Award was Mike Cervi. Oakdale’s Leo Camarillo was honored as the 1975 Professional Rodeo Cowboys Association All-Around Champion.

Hall of Fame inductions and awards are sponsored and selected by the Rodeo Historical Society, an organization with the Museum whose worldwide members share an interest in preserving rodeo history. Membership supports the Museum’s rodeo programs, including research, an oral history project, acquisition of materials for the American Rodeo Gallery and the prestigious Rodeo Hall of Fame.

The weekend included a cocktail reception, a concert featuring Western musician Ned LeDoux, the Champion’s Gala and Award Ceremony.