By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Softball VOL Awards Announced

The 2019 Valley Oak League honors were announced and to no surprise the Oakdale High School team was well represented. As the 2019 league champs, Oakdale had numerous players recognized by the league.

Senior Lexi Webb was named Most Valuable Player in the VOL. Webb had eight home runs, batted .630, had 37 runs batted in and nine doubles on the season. Webb also pitched 94 innings, going 14-0 with an ERA of 0.52 and struck out 179 batters.

Brittany Bye, a senior, was named Defensive Player of the Year. Brittany played short stop this season and had a fielding percentage of .892. Bye turned three double plays this season and had ten put outs. Bye played in 24 games this season.

Earning first team honors was senior Emily Smith and juniors Jazzlynn Velasquez and Cortney Koelmans. Smith played multiple spots this season including catcher, outfielder and infielder. At the plate Smith batted .348 with 15 runs batted in. She committed zero errors this season. Velasquez, who played third base and second base this season, batted .310 with a dozen runs batted in. She also hit a pair of triples this season. Koelmans wrapped up her first year on the varsity team and played pitcher, outfielder and infielder. Koelmans breakout performances came during the spring tournament and following the tournament she pitched a one hitter against Central Catholic. Koelmans went 2-0 as a pitcher with an ERA of 0.00. In four innings of work in the circle she struck out 23 and only surrendered four total hits.

Rilyn Cassaretto and Mariyn Waterman were named Second Team All-VOL. Cassaretto, a junior played outfield and second base this season. Cassaretto played in two dozen games and had a batting average of .304 with 21 hits. She committed zero errors this season. Waterman, also a junior, pitched and played infield. Waterman went 5-0 on the year with an ERA of 2.28. At the plate she had an average of .352 with 17 runs batted in.

Head coach Larry Loger won Coach of the Year honors for the fifth time. Loger has been the coach of the team since 2002.