By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Football Awards Handed Out For Campaign
Eric DeGraff was all smiles after receiving the Mike Hogwood Memorial Most Outstanding Lineman Award. DENNIS D. CRUZ/THE LEADER
Varsity football head coach Trent Merzon, left, shakes the hand of wide receiver Devin Murphy after Murphy was voted as the Most Inspirational player by his teammates. DENNIS D. CRUZ/THE LEADER

Football fans, supporters, coaches and players recently gathered inside the main gym at Oakdale High School for the final time this school year. On Martin Luther King Jr. Day the football community met at the gym for presentation of the 2018-2019 football team awards.

Freshman head coach Rod Long and his staff handed out four Coaches Awards. Recipients of the awards were Dylan Thompson, Titan Ginger, Dion Suraz and Lucas Cox. For the second consecutive season, the freshman boys went undefeated.

The junior varsity team was also honored and head coach Matt Miranda and his staff handed out five Mustang Awards. Gage McPhee, Nico Valero, Donovan Walker, Kyle Redding and Rylin Kirk all took home awards for their efforts during the season.

Varsity head coach Trent Merzon and his staff was the final group to give out their awards. Each award is voted on by the players. Aiden Kiler won Scout Team award. Devin Murphy took home the Most Inspirational honors. The Larry Bird Most Dedicated award went to Carson Frazee. Sam Medlin was named the Most Improved Player of the Year while sophomore Zeke Saffar was named the Miko Arpoika Outstanding Back award recipient. Fullback Max Moore went on to win the Jimmy Gilbert Team Captain Award and Wyatt Waterworth received the team’s Jim Cooke Character Award. Eric DeGraff was named the Mike Hogwood Lineman Award winner. Payton Bradford and Cameron Snow were named as Co-Defensive Player of the Year honorees and Caleb Kuppens was presented with the Most Valuable Player of the Year award.