By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Dunlop, Jackson Take Lead In Oakdale Council Race
Placeholder Image

Incumbent Oakdale City Councilman Tom Dunlop appeared headed for re-election to a four-year term with 1,141 votes as of 9:30 p.m. Tuesday, with five of 10 Oakdale precincts reporting in. Newcomer Don Petersen was close behind with 1,111 votes and, if the trend held, would be elected to the other four-year term on the council.

Five candidates were in the running for the two posts, with Dunlop and Petersen leading the way. Trailing them were J.R. McCarty, currently serving as city treasurer, with 845 votes; incumbent Kathy Morgan with 791 and Ramona Howard with 726.

In the race for the two-year term to fill the seat left vacant when Jason Howard moved out of the area, former councilman and mayor Farrell Jackson was in the lead with 1,183 votes but businesswoman Cherilyn Bairos was close behind with 1,029. Michael Murray was third with 506 votes.

The two-person race for City Treasurer saw Carolyn Wheeler in the lead with 1,499 votes and Michael James Ward trailing with 1,062. City Clerk candidate Kathy Teixeira was unopposed and had polled 2,280 votes.

Voters were turning out in solid numbers on Tuesday, with lines out the door of some polling places and many people stopping by to drop off their absentee ballots.

Countywide, 221 of 388 precincts had reported in by 9 p.m. and incumbent Jeff Denham was leading the way in the race for the newly formed 10th Congressional District, leading former astronaut Jose Hernandez by a 57 to 43 percent margin, 33,043 votes to 24,954.

Local Assemblywoman Kristin Olsen was well ahead of challenger Christopher Mateo, 25,279 votes to 14,476 in her bid for re-election in the 12th District.

In other local races of note, council member Richard O’Brien had a 1,271 to 976 vote lead over incumbent Virginia Madueno in the race for Riverbank mayor and the leaders in the seven-way race for two seats on the Riverbank City Council were incumbent Jeanine Tucker and newcomer Cal Campbell, with Darlene Barber-Martinez not far behind.

Look here for updated information throughout the day on Wednesday and throughout the rest of the week as numbers become finalized and races are decided.