By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Science Fairs Top Honors Presented
sceince fair
Sierra View Elementary first graders Kaia Cox, left, and Macey David were two of many students acknowledged for their superior work at the 34th Annual Science Fair Awards night. The first grade scientists will now advance to the county level with their project Germs, Germs, Everywhere!! - photo by Teresa Hammond/The Leader

Elementary and Oakdale Junior High students were recently acknowledged for their work in the 34th Annual Science Fair. Approximately 70 projects will represent Oakdale Joint Unified School District at the Stanislaus County Science Fair in May.

The following is the list of First Place and Special Recognition recipients. Due to OJUSD student privacy guidelines, some names were not released for newspaper use.

First Place and Community/Special Recognition Awards by school include:


Adian Equine: Dog Smarts, Samantha Powell.

Individual Awards: Hailey Astle, So Fresh and So Clean, Clean.

Group Awards: Avila Whitford and Paige Kerr, Tooth Be Told;

Fair Oaks:

MID Project: Lemon Power, Ethan Ho; Golden Valley Award: Pointing North, Tatiana Gonzalez; OID Project, Shadow Science, Isabella Salzer.

Individual Awards: Addisyn Martin, How Salty Does the Sea Have to be for an Egg to Float?; Brenna Franca, pHun with Acids and Bases; Savannah Courtney, Electromagnetism - All Wrapped Up; Carter Franca, Hot Stuff.

Group Awards: Alexia Jeevan, Stephanie Adams, Nevaeh Silvestri and Isabella Medrano, Density Cubes.


MID Project: Insulation Station, Brooklin Werner.

Individual Awards: Landon Smith, Master Builder of Pokémon; Lilianna Cahoon, Excited vs Calm.

Group Awards: Bryce Reeh, Bubble Gum Challenge.

Sierra View:

Group Awards: Macey David and Kaia Cox, Germs, Germs, Everywhere!!; Ella Christianson and partner, Which Travels Farther; Isaac Baez and partner, Skittles: Can You Taste the Rainbow If You Can’t See It?

Oakdale Junior High School:

OID Project: The Desalination of Water, Ashlynn Leibenson and Arianna Magana; Extra Mile Award: Super-Sized Wifi, Simon Appel; Award of Science Excellence: Sodalicious, Afton Daley.

Individual Awards: Emma Lowe, Name that Color; Madison Hoffman, The Magic of Music.

Group Awards: Kylie Meek and Baylee Merrell, Bread vs. Liquids; Carson Maroudas-Kerr and Michael Brush, Scorchin Substances; Rachel Haakma and Cassie Haakma, Toothpic, Bridges; Danielle Batezell and Harmony Edwards, Bon Appetite: A Mouse’s Preference.


Administrator Awards were given to the following students by a campus administrator: The Rotten Apple, Cleavant Yang (Talmage Allen); Pet Poll, Natalie Powell (Larry Bonds); Fit Falcons, Kyleigh Melconian and Wes Burford (Kathy Pinol); Eco-Friendly Weed Killer, Ava Franco (Janet Hamby); Catch Me If You Can, Aiden Anthony and partner (David Kindred) and Superintendent’s Choice Award: How to Grow the Tallest Grass, Sarah Cuenca (Kristi Rapinchuk).