By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hardwood Hardware Handed Out For Mustang Boy Hoops
ohs mustang logo

The 2019-2020 Oakdale High School boys basketball programs held their annual awards ceremony earlier this month. The event was held at the school’s main gym in front of a large crowd. All three levels of Mustang basketball were on hand to present end of season awards to the players.

The varsity team gave out numerous awards on Thursday night, March 5. Senior Michael Echavarria was named Team Captain. Fellow senior Peyton Bradford won both the BMT – Born Mustang Tough – and Hustle Award. Most Improved were both Daniel Garcia and Landon Nunes. Nathan Criswell took home both Best Defensive Player and the team’s MVP Award. Jonah Norman was named Best Offensive Player and taking home the Character Award was Jackson Holt. Oakdale won over a dozen games during the season.

For the JV boys, Johnny Wylie earned the Most Valuable Player Award, Brecken Campbell was named Defensive MVP. Jacob Guignard won the BMT Award. Jack Kjeldgaard won the Hustle Award and taking home Most Improved Player was Ethan Dingu. The team finished the season with a record of 19-9 overall.

For the freshman team, Mick Merzon took home the BMT Award while Niko Klose was named Offensive Player of the Year. Jace Rau was named Defensive Player of the Year. Cooper Pitney was awarded the Most Improved Player. As a team the freshman placed fourth overall in Valley Oak League and won a total of 18 games on the season.