By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
County Clerk Recorder Certifies Vote Totals

Stanislaus County Clerk Recorder and Registrar of Voters Lee Lundrigan announced the Nov. 7, 2017 Consolidated District Election canvass of the vote was completed on Thursday Nov. 16, 2017. Stanislaus County certified its election results which can be found posted on the election website,

This was a district election which included all of Stanislaus County and portions of both San Joaquin County and Santa Clara County.

The certification of the vote includes an official summary of the results, including a tally of votes conducted by Stanislaus County for the contests shared with San Joaquin County.

In the Oakdale Irrigation District races, Brad DeBoer received 705 votes to the 374 cast for Grover Francis in Division 5, which includes land in both Oakdale and Riverbank. There were no write in votes and, with roughly 65 percent of the vote, DeBoer was elected to the post. In the Division 2 race, incumbent Herman Doornenbal Jr. was returned to the board, receiving 672 votes to the 461 cast for challenger Don Taro. The Division includes land in both Oakdale and Escalon. There were also four write in votes.

Also a seat on the Valley Home School District was decided, with a slim three-vote margin. Erin Wells received 135 votes while Mary Beth Carpenter received a total of 132. Wells won the seat; there were no write-ins for that race, with the seat shared between Stanislaus and San Joaquin counties.

The final figures on Measure S, continuation of the one-eighth cent sales tax to benefit local libraries, show it was overwhelmingly approved, with 41,986 ‘Yes’ votes compared to 9,025 ‘No’ votes, the Measure passing by an 82 to 18 percent margin.


Stanislaus had 238,666 registered voters eligible to cast their ballot in this election, of which 51,325 voted. A total of 44,706 ballots were cast by mail in Stanislaus County compared with only 6,619 Stanislaus voters going to the polls on Election Day. Voter turnout was 21.50 percent in this election.