By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Say Hay - Making A Difference
Janet Hay
Janet Hay

Janet Hay of the Oakdale Joint Unified School District will represent Stanislaus County in the 2014 State Classified School Employees of the Year Program in the Child Nutrition category, recently announced by the Stanislaus County Office of Education (SCOE) and the Association of California School Administrators (ACSA) Stanislaus Charter.

Hay has worked in the food service department of OJUSD for 13 years. She worked her way up to the position of Food Service Driver through her dedication and exemplary work ethic. Hay is a great role model to fellow employees and always exhibits professionalism and a positive attitude. She promotes collaboration within the central kitchen staff and gets them started each morning in a positive way. She is always willing to take the extra step; going above and beyond to ensure that production runs smoothly and deliveries are on time. A co-worker said Hay is a person to rely on when questions need answers and solutions are needed. She is always thinking ahead, thinking of co-workers and how to make things as easy as possible for everyone.

“I’m just doing my job,” Hay said humbly. “I have a great team I work with. I’m honored to be chosen.”

School districts throughout the county selected their own honorees and forwarded nominations to SCOE’s “Employees Making a Difference,” program. Twenty-six outstanding classified staff were honored at a special reception on Jan. 21 at the Petersen Event Center, Modesto.

Fellow Stanislaus County CSEA members who will be alongside Hay at the state program are Kathy Cook, Chatom Union School District, Para-Educator category; Jasiel Anaya, Ceres Unified School District, Maintenance/Operations category; Michelle “Shelley” Suchman, Sylvan Union School District, Support/Security Services category; Mary Venema, Turlock Unified School District, Office and Technical category. It was also announced at the reception that Shelley Suchman, Sylvan Union School District, is the recipient of the second annual Jane Johnston Civility Award for exemplifying the principles of civility at her school site.