By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Mustang Water Polo Season Wraps Up With Awards Night
varsity boys.JPG
Closing out an historic year for the OHS varsity boys water polo program, the recent awards night saw honorees recognized including, from left: Spencer Ruthman, Ethan Perry, Zach Hill, Aron Cameron and Stash Perry. DENNIS D. CRUZ/THE LEADER
varsity girls.JPG
Award winners for the varsity water polo girls were, from left: Camryn O’Neal, Bethany Metcalfe, Neesa DeLeon, Hannah Lee and Kelly-Lynn Roche. DENNIS D. CRUZ/THE LEADER

The 2018 campaign was a memorable one for the Oakdale High School water polo program. For the first time in school history, the Mustang boys water polo team reached the Sac-Joaquin Section Championship game. On Monday night, Nov. 26 players, coaches, family members and supporters showed up at the Gene Bianchi Community Center to honor the program for a final time this season, with recognition for the boys and girls squads.

Getting recognized for the outstanding run on the boys team were Spencer Ruthman presented with the Mustang Award, Workhorse Award went to Ethan Perry, Zach Hill was named Defensive Player of the Year, Aron Cameron was named Most Valuable Player and Stash Perry earned the Offensive Player of the Year award.

For the varsity girls, Kelly-Lynn Roche won the Mustang Award, Offensive Player of the Year award was presented to Neesa DeLeon, Impact Player of the Year was Hannah Lee, and Most Valuable Player of the Year went to both Camryn O’Neal and Bethany Metcalfe.

Awards were handed out to the junior varsity team members for their outstanding achievements as well. For the junior varsity boys Dyllon Jones was named Offensive Player of the Year, Lorenzo Klose earned the Defensive Player of the Year. Rookie of the Year went to Matt Van Dyke and Most Valuable Player was Gage Ferreira.

For the JV girls team, Ellie Fox was named Rookie of the Year, Charlotte Liekhus was the team’s Defensive Player of the Year, Sophie Taylor earned the Offensive Player of the Year honors and Logan Nord was named Most Valuable Player.

Head coach Diane Kline, coach of both the varsity boys and varsity girls may have had the moment of the night when she announced her retirement. Coach Kline has been with the program since 2006.