By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
OHS Scientists Advance To State
OHS science trophy
Oakdale High Schools Science Olympiad Team following their Second Place Overall placement in the Regional Science Olympiad earlier this month. Two teams were sent representing OHS. The Gold Team will now advance to the state level event at CSU Stanislaus on April 16. Photo Contributed

Oakdale High School’s Science Olympiad Team participated in the 2016 Stanislaus County Regional Science Olympiad earlier this month. Two teams attended representing OHS. The Gold Team earned an Overall Second Place honor which now advances them to the Northern California State Finals for the eighth consecutive year. The Red Team earned a respectable 10th Place overall.

“We had two teams which were supposed to be 15 students,” advisor Cameron Nickerson stated. “They played with people missing from the roster and as a result several people walking into events for which they had not prepared. Most of the time they still did well.”

Medals are awarded to the top five places in each of the 23 events. There were 19 competing teams and 23 events in the competition. Each team entered two people into specific events. One or both Oakdale teams collected medals for 14 of the 23 events.

“We really have some talent on our teams,” Nickerson stated, “and I am hopeful we will continue our winning streak for years to come. I am very proud of both teams.”

Members of the Gold Team are: Gaby Ceja, Bella Cobarruvias, Chris Dickson, Karissa Garcia, Anna Hawksworth, Sophie Hill, Anne Homer, Jared Kahler, Taryn Lane, Jean Pagadua, Sarah Sorenson, Shannen Yang, Jasmine Yong, Liz White and Michael Winders.

Red team members are: Alyssa Beltran, Josh Cash, Sam Cole, Rebekah DeCavit, Samantha Ho, Zach Hill, Colby Ng, Erick Ramirez, Allison Reburg, Austin Romito and Shaye Spani.

Medals were awarded in the following areas:

Air Trajectory: First Place- Jared Kahler and Liz White.

Bridge Building: Fourth Place- Austin Romito and Rebekah DeCavit.

Experimental Design: Fifth Place- Taryn Lane, Karissa Garcia and Anne Homer.

Forensics: Second Place- Michael Winders and Gaby Ceja.

Electric Vehicle: Second Place- Jasmine Yong and Bella Cobarruvias. Third Place- Austin Romito and Rebekah DeCavit.

Fossils: Second Place- Taryn Lane and Anna Hawksworth.

Game On: Fourth Place- Jasmine Yong and Sophie Hill.

GeoLogic Mapping: First Place- Jasmine Yong and Anne Homer.

Hydrogeology: First Place- Anna Hawksworth and Karissa Garcia.

It’s About Time: First Place- Michael Winders and Anne Homer. Fifth Place- Josh Cash and Erick Ramirez.

Robot Arm: First Place- Zach Hill and Colby Ng. Second Place- Michael Winders and Jean Pagaduan.

Wind Power: Fourth Place- Chris Dickson and Bella Cobarruvias.

Wright Stuff: First Place- Jared Kahler and Shannen Yang. Second Place- Sam Cole and Shaye Spani.

Write It Do It: Second Place- Liz White and Jared Kahler.

The Gold Team will now prepare for the Northern California Science Olympiad to be hosted on April 16 at CSU Stanislaus.