By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Basketball Honors Bestowed

The Oakdale High School boys basketball program held its awards ceremony on Thursday, March 23. All three levels of Oakdale basketball were honored for their efforts on the court.

Three awards were given out to the freshman team by head coach Grant Miller. Co-MVPs were named this year for the young team. Steven Morris and Michael Echavarria took home the prestigious honor in their first year on the court. Frankie Dutra was honored with the Mustang Award and Most Improved went to Jaiden Williams.

A trio of awards was also handed out to the junior varsity hoopsters on Thursday evening. Coach Don Muniz handed out the hardware to his players. Sam Medlin was named MVP, Aron Cameron took home the Hustle Award and Evan Brush was awarded with the Mustang Award.

Oakdale’s varsity season was highlighted by their double overtime 69-65 home win over East Union. Coach Hondo Arpoika handed out seven awards to his players. Jace Krick took home the MVP Award and was named Co-Captain to the team along with Mark Dickson. Dickson also took home the Brian Irvine Character Award. Ty Fuentes earned the Best Defense Award, Hustle Award recipient was Nick Woody, Zack Tamburrino earned the Most Improved Award. Tanner Harvey earned the Mustang BMT (Born Mustang Tough) Player of the Year. Drew Legan was recognized by the Valley Oak League and earned All-League Honorable Mention.