By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Football Program Gathers For Annual Awards Night

Several weeks after the conclusion of their season, Oakdale High School Mustang football players, coaches, family and friends joined together on Monday night, Jan. 20 for the annual football awards ceremony. The team came together one final time for the season.

Honors were presented at all three levels, freshmen, JV and varsity.

At the freshman level, there were a total of seven Coaches Awards presented. These award recipients were selected by the coaching staff. Josh Gibson, Mickey Merzon, Denver Stephens, Brock Osmundson, Carlos Baez, Chris Thomas and Grant Edwards were all award winners.

The junior varsity team award recipients were presented with Mustang Awards. Dillon Thompson, Jack Leonard, Mason Gilton, Jacob Guignard and Jake Kettering all took home hardware.

The varsity team wrapped up the evening with their awards. Each award was selected by the players.

Honorees, with information provided by coaches, were: Thomas Watson, Mike Donnally Scout Team Award; Owen Pena, Most Inspirational; Dom Marenco and John Creech, Larry Bird Most Dedicated; Diego Valdez, Most Improved. Also, Leo Ayala and Zeke Saffar, Miko Arpoika Most Outstanding Back; Peyton Bradford, Jimmy Gilbert Team Captain Award; Angel Penunuri, Mike Hogwood Best Lineman; Dom McDonald, Jim Cook Character Award; Cameron Snow, Best Defense; Peyton Bradford, MVP.