By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Teacher Of The Year Finalists Announced
Stan Co Office of Ed.png

Magnolia Elementary first grade teacher Marlo Smith is among esteemed company, named as one of the finalists for the Teacher of the Year.

The Modesto Rotary Club and the Stanislaus County Office of Education (SCOE) will honor the 2019 Stanislaus County Teacher of the Year Finalists and announce the selection of four as 2019 Stanislaus County Teachers of the Year at a Rotary luncheon on Tuesday, May 7 at the DoubleTree Hotel in Modesto at noon. The four selected as Teachers of the Year will each receive a $1,000 cash award from the Modesto Rotary Club Foundation and a $650 Nasco gift card. Mocse Credit Union also sponsors the event and provides funding for the awards, decorations and lunch for the student entertainers.

Teachers were nominated by their principals and finalists were selected from 69 nominees representing 15 school districts in Stanislaus County. A selection committee, composed of local Rotarians and educators, narrowed the nominations through a paper screening process and then visited the classrooms of 24 semi-finalists before narrowing it down to the 12 finalists.

Again this year, a Civility Award will be presented in honor of former SCOE Assistant Superintendent Jane Johnston, who helped launch the county-wide Choose Civility Initiative in 2010 and passed away unexpectedly in April 2012. Johnston was a member of the Modesto Rotary, co-chaired the Teacher of the Year Program, and was active with the Education Foundation of Stanislaus County. The Education Foundation will again honor her memory by presenting a $1,000 check and a Jane Johnston Civility Award to one of the 12 finalists who best exemplifies the principles of civility.

This is the 21st year that Modesto Rotary and SCOE have joined efforts to honor teachers in Stanislaus County. The program not only honors local teachers and celebrates excellence in education, but also provides an opportunity for teachers to receive state and national recognition. Two of the four Teachers of the Year will be selected, through an interview process, to represent Stanislaus County in the State Teacher of the Year Program. One state winner then proceeds to the national level.

“It’s an honor to partner with Rotary to recognize these outstanding teachers – each who helps inspire and shape the lives of students in our county each and every day,” said County Superintendent of Schools Scott Kuykendall.