By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Jackson Garners Top Vote For Oakdale Council
Voters stand in line going out the door early Tuesday evening at the Oakdale Family Church of the Nazarene, one of the many polling places in the city. - photo by Marg Jackson/The Leader

Former mayor and city councilman Farrell Jackson polled the most votes in the Oakdale City Council election Tuesday, receiving 2,224 in his bid for a shortened two-year term.

With 10 of 10 precincts reporting, Jackson outdistanced Cherilyn Bairos (1,750) and Michael Murray (875) in the two-year race.

In a battle for two available four-year terms, incumbent Oakdale City Councilman Tom Dunlop was re-elected with 2,009 votes and newcomer Donald Petersen secured the other seat with 1,884. Also in the race were J.R. McCarty, currently serving as city treasurer, with 1,533 votes; incumbent Kathy Morgan with 1,342 and Ramona Howard with 1,261.

Results are preliminary and subject to change based on absentee ballots and the final canvass of votes.

The two-person race for City Treasurer saw Carolyn Wheeler winning 2,612 votes to 1,938 cast for Michael James Ward. City Clerk candidate Kathy Teixeira was unopposed and polled 3,988 votes.

Voters were turning out in solid numbers on Tuesday, with lines out the door of some polling places and many people stopping by to drop off their absentee ballots.

In other local races of note, council member Richard O’Brien appears to have unseated Riverbank Mayor Virginia Madueno, 2,288 to 2,144. The leaders in the seven-way race for two seats on the Riverbank City Council were incumbent Jeanine Tucker and newcomer Darlene Barber-Martinez with Cal Campbell not far behind.