By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Hospital Honors Volunteers For Service
Oak Valley Hospital District Volunteer of the Year Patty Hoddy, left, and volunteer organization president Mickey Peabody show a $30,000 check they presented to the hospital, while OVHD board members Louise Sanders and Dan Cummins, right, expressions show their pleasure with the donation. - photo by Dawn M. Henley/The Leader

Contributing more than 15,000 hours of service annually, the Oak Valley Hospital District’s volunteers were honored at a reception on April 19 at the Oak Valley Medical Plaza.

Hospital CEO John McCormick and Mickey Peabody, president of the hospital’s volunteer organization, spoke and awarded certificates at the event. While all volunteers were celebrated, those who had 100 hours or more of service in the past year, as well as those who had multiple years of volunteering at the hospital were recognized. In all, 39 certificates were awarded.

Patty Hoddy was presented with the OVHD Volunteer of the Year award, which was voted on by the volunteers.

A $30,000 check raised through the efforts of the OVHD volunteer organization was presented to McCormick. Peabody said that the volunteers request that the money be used to purchase two EKG machines – one for the emergency room and one for respiratory therapy – and the remaining $5,000 to purchase a spin centrifuge machine for the lab.

Volunteers with five years of service are Theresa Carstensen, Marsha Chapman, Ann Pierini, Linda Schulz, Suzette Titus, and Purnima Mahida.

Yvonne Vella was recognized for 10 years of service, Sally Richards was recognized for 20 years, and Beverly Haidlen and Vicki Pimley were both recognized for 30 years.

Volunteers recognized with 100 hours of service or more in a year are Brenda Blount, Donna Edmundson, Theresa Fournier, Glenna Griffith, Jane Griffith, Patty Hoddy, Christie King, Edna Kolsters, Marygrace Langford, Esther Nishikawa, Pravina Panchal, Joanne Parker, Mickey Peabody, Phyllis Pottle, Frankie Rebiskie, Olga Rodden, Linda Schwartz, Joseph Stillman, Suzette Titus, Yvonne Vella, and Shirley Vieira.

Outstanding Junior Volunteers are Anaiste Reynoso, Rebecca Cosmero, and Chandni Mistry. Junior Volunteer Most Hours is Jonna Pagaduan with 64 hours. Volunteers who are graduating high school seniors are Haley Lubbers and Laurie Baxter.

The hospital volunteers do everything from serving meals and beverages to patients, manning an information desk in the hospital lobby, to doing clerical tasks in various hospital departments and managing the hospital Gift Shop. The financial value of the OVHD volunteers is calculated at more than $356,000.

Also present at the April 19 ceremony was Daron McDaniel, a representative from Rep. Jeff Denham’s office, to award certificates of special congressional recognition to some of the volunteers.