By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Denham Names Congressional Artwork Competition Winners

U.S. Representative Jeff Denham (R-Turlock) on Monday announced the winner of California’s 10th District Congressional Art Competition as well as the winner of the “Valley Vote” public voting contest at a reception held at the Mistlin Art Gallery in Modesto.

Skye Ocaranza, a Pitman High School senior from Turlock, was recognized as the overall winner for his artwork, “Ramephant.” The winning submission of the “Valley Vote” contest, as determined by the recipient of the most votes in an online component, was “Architecture” by Riverbank High School senior, Angelo Sanchez.

The second place prize of the Congressional Art Competition was presented to Nairobi Mello of Pitman High School for her piece, “Fluttering Thoughts.” Michelle Serena Doo, also from Pitman High School, took home the third place title with her photograph titled “Beauty in Deception.”

Ocaranza’s art will represent California’s 10th Congressional District in the Cannon Tunnel, which leads visitors to the U.S. Capitol Building, and will hang alongside the winning entries from every congressional district in the United States for the next year. As the overall winner of the competition, he will be invited to Washington, D.C. this summer to be honored at a reception for winning students to be held in the U.S. Capitol, where the National Winner will also be announced.

As the winner of the “Valley Vote” contest, Sanchez will have his work hung and displayed in Rep. Denham’s D.C. office, where visitors from California’s 10th Congressional District will be able to admire the Central Valley artwork. The second and third place pieces will be hung in Rep. Denham’s Modesto office. To view the winning submissions as well as all of those in this year’s Congressional Art Competition, visit Rep. Denham’s website at


Denham represents California’s 10th congressional district, which includes Stanislaus County and a portion of San Joaquin County. He is the chairman of the House Transportation and Infrastructure Subcommittee on Railroads, Pipelines and Hazardous Materials and also serves on the House Committees on Agriculture and Natural Resources.