By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Brennan Claims Council Seat By Nine Votes
Placeholder Image

The results are in, and Oakdale has a new mayor.

In a final tally, the Stanislaus County Registrar of Voters Office released its certified vote count on Thursday, Nov. 18 showing Pat Paul defeated Farrell Jackson 52.09 to 47.26 percent. Jason Howard claimed one of two open council seats, with current council member Michael Brennan claiming the other. Brennan beat out Michael Murray by nine votes.

Voters also caused a major turnover on the Oak Valley Hospital Board of Directors. Incumbents Bob Wikoff and Belinda Abell failed to win reelection, their seats replaced by Dan Cummins and Wendell Chun. Louise Pooley Sanders was elected to a seat with two years left in its term.


Final results:


Oakdale Mayor

Pat Paul — 2911 votes, 52.09 percent

Farrell Jackson — 2641 votes, 47.26 percent


Oakdale City Council

Jason Howard — 2174 votes, 24.95 percent

Michael Brennan — 1749, 20.07 percent

Michael Murray — 1740, 19.97 percent

John Kanno — 1548, 17.76 percent

Bill Camp — 1482, 17.01 percent


Oak Valley Hospital District

(Four-year seat)

Daniel Cummins — 6498 votes, 25.41 percent

Edward Chock — 5119, 20.02 percent

Wendell Chun — 5048, 19.74 percent

Robert Wikoff — 4613, 18.04 percent

Belinda Abell — 4188, 16.38 percent

(Two-year seat)

Louise Pooley Sanders — 5902 votes, 57.36 percent

Paul Westberg — 4353, 42.30 percent