View Mobile Site
Text Size: Smaller Larger Normal

Gridiron Season Hardware Handed Out At Ceremony

Gridiron Season Hardware Handed Out At Ceremony

It was a big night for senior fullback Josh Jacobson. He had his hands full with the Most Valuable Player and Team Captain Awards.Leader Photos By Dennis D. Cruz

POSTED January 24, 2018 9:00 a.m.
Share on Facebook Bookmark and Share

Oakdale High School football teams recently handed out the end of the year trophies to players. On Martin Luther King Jr. Day coaches, players, fans and parents of all three Mustang football levels attended the annual ceremony.

Taking home freshman Coaches Awards were Zeke Saffar, Robert Silva, Owen Pena, Gage McFee, Rylan Kerr and Nicolas Villegas. As a team, the freshmen went 10-0 on the season.

For the junior varsity squad, Leo Ayala was named Offensive Player of the Year. Dom McDonald took home the Mustang Award, Angel Penunuri was selected for the Lineman Award, Peyton Bradford was named Defensive Player of the Year and Most Valuable Player was Cameron Snow.

Varsity head coach Trent Merzon introduced each of his players to get their Sac-Joaquin Section Runner-Up patch. Earning All-Valley Oak League patches were Marc Dickson, Zac Campbell, Jace Krick, Josh Jacobson, Hunter Falconi, Nate Richardson, Cameron Cherry, Junior Rodin, Bronson Harmon, Matt Kjeldgaard, Jorge Barajas, Levi Ichord, Conner Reed and Kyle Seese.

Following the patch ceremony, Coach Merzon and his staff handed out their awards. Gustavo Gutierrez won the Inspirational Award, Most Improved went to Hunter Falconi, Brandon Castaneda won Scout Team Award, Miko Arpoika Award went to Cameron Cherry. Cherry rushed for over 2,154 yards and scored 27 touchdowns. Taking home the Larry Byrd Most Dedicated Award was Bronson Harmon. Character Award was presented to Marc Dickson. Quarterback Dickson threw 14 touchdowns and two interceptions on the season. Taking home the Defensive Player of the Year award for the second consecutive year was senior Jace Krick. Lineman of the Year award went to Nico Sarale.

These awards are voted on by the players and the team members decided that their Most Valuable Player of the Year was Josh Jacobson. He rushed for 1,700 yards and scored 28 touchdowns. In his 197 attempts he never fumbled. Jacobson also took home the Team Captain Award.

Enter a Comment:

You must be logged in to post comments. encourages readers to interact with one another. We will not edit your comments, but we reserve the right to delete any inappropriate responses.

To report offensive or inappropriate comments, contact our editor.

The comments below are from readers of and do not necessarily represent the views of The Newspaper or Morris Multimedia.

No comments have been posted. Log in or Register to post a comment.

Please wait ...